Project icon: lavishly furnished initial letter with a painting of Ptolemy using an astrolab.

Ptolemaeus Arabus et Latinus

_ (the underscore) is the placeholder for exactly one character.
% (the percent sign) is the placeholder for no, one or more than one character.
%% (two percent signs) is the placeholder for no, one or more than one character, but not for blank space (so that a search ends at word boundaries).

At the beginning and at the end, these placeholders are superfluous.

Official opening of the project

On 14 February 2014 the project Ptolemaeus Arabus et Latinus was officially presented at the Deutsches Museum. Introductions were given by Prof. Helmuth Trischler (Research Director of the Deutsches Museum), Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz Hoffmann (President of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities) and Prof. Dr. Menso Folkerts (Chairman of the Commission for the History of Science of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities). Then the project was presented by its director, Prof. Dr. Dag Nikolaus Hasse, and its two research leaders, Dr. Benno van Dalen and Dr. David Juste. The highlight of the program was the lecture "Claudius Ptolemy: His View of the World" by Prof. Dr. Liba Taub (Director and Curator of the Whipple Museum of the History of Science at Cambridge University). A reception followed in the Akademiensammlung, a collection of scientific instruments donated to the Deutsches Museum by the Academy in 1903.

Prof. Dr. Helmuth Trischler
Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz Hoffmann
Prof. Dr. Menso Folkerts
Prof. Dr. Dag Nikolaus Hasse
Dr. Benno van Dalen
Dr. David Juste
Prof. Dr. Liba Taub speaks on "Claudius Ptolemy: His View of the World"
The Ehrensaal of Deutsches Museum
Five of the day's speakers together with Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Riedel, vice president of the University of Würzburg
Reception in the Akademiensammlung at Deutsches Museum
The Ptolemæus Arabus et Latinus team at the official opening of the project in the Deutsches Museum on 14 February 2014. From left to right: Marie-Luise Zurhake, Claudia Dorl-Klingenschmid, Benno van Dalen, David Juste, Stefan Georges, Hayim Malkhasy, Dag Nikolaus Hasse, María José Parra Pérez, Henry Zepeda, Bojidar Dimitrov, Tim Price, and Dominik Knaupp.